Joint Call for Papers for Tracks and Special Sessions

(Call for Papers in PDF)

Open Dataset and Software Track
Chair: Gwendal Simon (TELECOM Bretagne, France)

One aspect of MMSys that we encourage is the reproducibility of research work and the use of common artefacts (open dataset, source code, and so on). Sharing artefacts is a way to advance the field, which allows others to replicate research results more easily, to build and improve multimedia systems. This track provides an opportunity for researchers and practitioners to make their work available and citable. Authors publishing artefacts, including datasets and code, will benefit by increasing the public awareness of their effort. The accepted papers that describe the artefacts will be included in the conference proceedings and on the ACM Digital Libraries with the appropriate ACM reproducibility badge. The authors of accepted artefacts will be invited to present their work at the MMSys 2017.

Demo Track
Chair: Vincent Charvillat (University of Toulouse, France)

As in previous years, the demo sessions will promote applied research, application prototypes and systems along with the scientific program. The sessions will not only showcase the applicability of recent results to real world problems but also trigger ideas exchanges between theory and practice and collaborations between MMSys attendees. Submissions from both industries and universities are encouraged. A submission must describe the demonstrated system and the underlying scientific problem, The novelty of the work and what is going to be demonstrated should also be clearly explained.

Special Sessions

Cloud-based Multimedia

Jiangchuan Liu (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Chuan Wu (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Niklas Carlsson (Linköping University, Sweden)

Multi-sensory Experiences

Niall Murray (AIT, Ireland)
George Ghinea (Brunel University, UK)
Gabriel-Miro Muntean (Dublin City University, Germany)
Christian Timmerer (Alpen-Adria-Universitat, Austria)
Weisi Lin (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Wu-Yuin Hwang (National Central University, Taiwan)

Immersive Experiences in AR and VR

Simon Gunkel (TNO, The Netherlands)
Christian Timmerer (Alpen-Adria-Universitat, Austria)
Jacob Chakareski (University of Alabama, US)
Daisuke Iwai (Osaka University, Japan)

IoT Connectivity and Infrastructure

Valerie Issarny (Inria, France)
Francoise Sailhan (CNAM, France)
Kishore Ramachandran (Georgia Tech, US)
Nalini Venkatasubramanian (UC Irvine, US)