The 27th ACM SIGMM Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video

Workshop Chairs
Call for Papers

NOSSDAV 2017, the 27th ACM SIGMM Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video, will be co-located with MMSys 2017 in Taipei, Taiwan on June 20—23, 2017. As in previous years, the workshop will continue to focus on both established and emerging research topics, high-risk high-return ideas and proposals, and future research directions in multimedia networking and systems, in a single-track format the encourages active participation and discussions among academic and industry researchers and practitioners. Out-of-the-box ideas are particularly welcome.


The workshop seeks papers in all areas of multimedia networking and systems. Authors are especially encouraged to submit papers with real-world experimental results and real data sets. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications for social media and networks
  • Augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR)
  • Energy-aware and green computing
  • Media streaming, distribution and storage
  • Mobile, cloud, and peer-to-peer systems
  • Multi-core and many-core systems
  • Health care and quality of life
  • Multimedia communications
  • Multimedia data analytics and visualization
  • Networked games
  • Networked GPUs, graphics, and virtual environments
  • Real-time immersive systems
  • System security
  • Visual search
  • Web 2.0 systems and social networks
  • Wireless networks and embedded systems for multimedia applications
Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must be original and should not be currently under review for any other publication. Submissions should be prepared in the ACM style, written in English, and no longer than 6 pages in PDF format. Authors of accepted papers will need to present their paper at NOSSDAV 2017 in person. The Proceedings of NOSSADAV 2017 will be published by ACM and distributed at the workshop electronically, and will also be included in the ACM Digital Library.

Please refer to this page for an overview of important dates, submission guidelines and procedures for MMSys'17 tracks, special sessions, and co-located workshops. Official NOSSDAV 2017 website is available here.

The submission site for NOSSDAV workshop is available here.

Technical Program Committee
  • Kevin Almeroth, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Ali C. Begen, Özyeğin University and Networked Media
  • Laszlo Böszörmenyi, Klagenfurt University
  • Surendar Chandra, Datrium
  • Mainak Chatterjee, University of Central Florida
  • Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University
  • Songqing Chen, George Mason University
  • Ngai-Man Cheung, Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Aiman Erbad, Qatar University
  • Wu-chi Feng, Portland State University
  • Jing-Ming Guo, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology
  • Hamed Haddadi, Queen Mary University of London
  • Zixia Huang, Advanced Technology RD Group of Google Fiber
  • Jong-Seok Lee, Yonsei University
  • Baochun Li, University of Toronto
  • Yong Liu, New York University
  • Ketan Mayer-Patel, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Wojciech Mazurczyk, Warsaw University ofTechnology
  • Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Jörg Ott, Technical University of Munich
  • Sofie Pollin, University of Leuven
  • Alexander Raake, Technische Universität Ilmenau
  • Nabil Sarhan, Wayne State University
  • Damien Schroeder, Technical University of Munich
  • Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa
  • Matti Siekkinen, Aalto University
  • Håkon Kvale Stensland, Simula Research Laboratory
  • Christian Timmerer, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt
  • Cong Thang Truong, The University of Aizu
  • Wei Wang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Chuan Wu, The University of Hong Kong
  • Michael Zink, University of Massachusetts Amherst